SL vs NZ | 2nd T20 Match | 03-09-2019 19:00

Time : 03 Sep (Tue), 07:00 pm (IST)
Series : New Zealand tour of Sri Lanka, 2019
Venue : Pallekele International Cricket Stadium, Pallekele

Updates After Toss (Last 30 Minutes Updates Area)

Download our Latest App

SL vs NZ Toss Info: 
Sri Lanka have won the toss and have opted to bat

One change from both the teams:
For SL: Kasun Rajitha OUT, Lakshan Sandakan IN
For NZ: Ross Taylor OUT, Tom Bruce IN.

New Zealand (Playing XI): 
Martin Guptill, Colin Munro, Tim Seifert(w), Tom Bruce, Daryl Mitchell, Colin de Grandhomme, Mitchell Santner, Scott Kuggeleijn, Tim Southee(c), Seth Rance, Ish Sodhi

Sri Lanka (Playing XI):
Kusal Mendis, Kusal Perera(w), Avishka Fernando, Niroshan Dickwella, Dasun Shanaka, Shehan Jayasuriya, Isuru Udana, Wanidu Hasaranga, Lasith Malinga(c), Akila Dananjaya, Lakshan Sandakan


  • After drawing the test series 1-1, New Zealand won the first T20 international at Kandy - Ross Taylor leading their chase of 175 to win by five wickets. 
  • Kusal Mendis had earlier thumped 79 from 53 balls as Sri Lanka posted 174/4 from their 20 overs. 
  • After becoming the leading wicket-taker in T20 international history in the first match, Lasith Malinga needs one more wicket to become the first bowler to 100 in the format.

SL vs NZ 2nd T20 Weather Report

Conditions in Kandy should be ideal for cricket on Tuesday evening with a very low chance of rain and temperatures sticking in the mid-20s throughout the evening.

SL vs NZ 2nd T20 Pitch Condition

In T20 international cricket, there has tended to be a lot of runs at Kandy. The pitch offers good bounce, and tends to hold its form – particularly in the shorter format.

SL vs NZ 2nd T20 Toss Prediction

Sri Lanka won the toss in the last two matches of this tour, so New Zealand are due to win it this time. They chased well last time though, and may be happy to field first again.

Team News

SL Team News

Sri Lanka could make changes for this second match, with Avishka Fernando having struggled with the bat in the first match, while Kasun Rajitha was loose with the ball. Danushka Gunathilaka could come into the team with the bat, while Lahiru Madushanka is a good option with the ball, or Lakshan Sandakan if they want an extra spinner.

NZ Team News

With Lockie Ferguson ruled out with a broken thumb, and Kane Williamson and Trent Boult rested, New Zealand only have 13 players on this tour. Tim Southee is leading the charge and it could be an unchanged team – with Todd Astle and Tom Bruce missing out – for the second game of SL vs NZ 2019 series.

Predicted Playing 11

Sri Lanka Predicted Playing 11

Kusal Mendis, Kusal Perera (wk), Danushka Gunathilaka, Niroshan Dickwella, Dasun Shanaka, Isuru Udana, Shehan Jayasuriya, Lahiru Madushanka, Akila Dananjaya, Wanindu Hasaranga, Lasith Malinga (c)

New Zealand Predicted Playing 11

Martin Guptill, Colin Munro, Tim Seifert (wk), Colin de Grandhomme, Ross Taylor, Daryl Mitchell, Mitchell Santner, Seth Rance, Scott Kuggeleijn, Tim Southee (c), Ish Sodhi

SL vs NZ Fantasy Teams

Team 1 (Head to Head or 3/4 Members League Team )

Watch Video for more info on each player.

*Stay Updated to our team
Remove Ross Taylor & You can Pick M Guptil
1.  N Dickwella
2.  K Perera
3.  Kusal Mendis (C / VC)
4.  C Munro  
5.  M Guptil
6.  W Hasaranga
7.  C de Grandhomme (C / VC)
8.  M Santner
9.  L Malinga
10. A danajaya
11. T Southee

Team 2 (Grand League - Risky Team Guide)


SL vs NZ Key Players:

SL Key Players

Kusal Mendis: 
Set the tone at the top of the order with 79 from 53 balls, including eight fours and two sixes, to continue the good limited-overs form he had found towards the end of the World Cup too.

Ishuru Udana: 
In-demand in franchise T20 cricket and, while he is inconsistent, the left-handed paceman’s bowling ability at his best should not be overlooked. He is also a handy lower-order pinch hitter with the bat.

Lasith Malinga: 
Now the leading wicket-taker in T20 international history, the slingy fast bowler is one wicket away from his 100th in the format after claiming 2-23 last time out.

Kusal Perera: 
He is one of the leading run-getters at Pallekele in T20 internationals with 165 runs in four matches. The left-handed batsman is averaging 41.25 here and is having a strike-rate rate of 141.02. Perera even has a couple of half-centuries at this ground.

NZ Key Players

Tim Southee:
Led from the front last time out, bowling eight dot balls and not conceding  a single boundary on his way to figures of 2-20 from four overs.

Ross Taylor: 
Hit 53* in the warm-up game and then 48 in the first match of the series to continue what has been an excellent run of form over the past 18 months or so.

Colin de Grandhomme:
Scored 44 from 28 balls last time in a valuable partnership with Taylor, as well as being a good option with the ball too.

Colin Munro:
The opener is the world's second-best batsman at the moment in the twenty-over format having scored 1411 runs which includes three hundreds and nine fifties. The left-hander is a very dangerous batsman and can take the game away from Sri Lanka if not dismissed early on.


Recent Forms:

SL Recent Form

Sri Lanka are without a win in their last six T20 internationals. The closest they came was in their first game against South Africa in March, when they tied the game but lost on a super over, but they have lost three times since. That includes two defeats in the remaining two games against South Africa, before they were unable to defend their 174/4 in the first game of this series. Their last win was a three-wicket victory at home to South Africa in August 2018.

NZ Recent Form

New Zealand have won four of the five T20 internationals they have played in 2019. Having already beaten Sri Lanka at home in January, they also beat India 2-1 in February.

They then started this series in good form, with Tim Southee taking two wickets and Ross Taylor leading the reply as New Zealand, set 175 to win, secured a five-wicket victory in the final over.

SL vs NZ Prediction:

New Zealand showed their all-round quality as they won the first match of the series and that was without Guptill or Munro firing. They have the quality to wrap up a series win.


Sri Lanka -
Avishka Fernando, Niroshan Dickwella (WK), Kusal Mendis, Kusal Perera, Danushka Gunathilaka, Shehan Jayasuriya, Dasun Shanaka, Isuru Udana, Lasith Malinga (C), Kasun Rajitha, Lahiru Kumara, Akila Dananjaya, Lakshan Sandakan, Wanidu Hasaranga, Lahiru Madushranka

New Zealand -
Martin Guptill, Colin Munro, Tim Seifert (WK), Tom Bruce, Ross Taylor, Daryl Mitchell, Mitchell Santner, Scott Kuggeleijn, Tim Southee (C), Seth Rance, Lockie Ferguson, Ish Sodhi, Colin de Grandhomme, Todd Astle.

All the best


Disclaimer: The information contained in this app/website is for entertainment only for Cricket lovers. Greatest11 is not an online gambling operator, or a gambling app or site of any kind. We are not responsible the completeness, accuracy, reliability, suitability or availability with respect to the app or website or the information contained on the app/website for any purpose.